Srinagar joins the UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN)

The News in Details:

  • Recently, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization or UNESCO designated Srinagar as a part of its ‘Creative Cities Network (UCCN)’.
  • Srinagar became the sixth Indian city to achieve this distinction, after Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad, Varanasi, and Jaipur.

What is UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN)?

  • The UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) was created in 2004. It aims at promoting cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development.
  • UCCN covers 7 creative fields, which can be chosen by the cities according to their preference for a specific creative industry sector to which they devote their talent and energy.
  • The member cities come from diverse regions, have different income levels and populations. The Network is first and foremost composed of cities ready to pool their resources, their experiences and knowledge for the common objectives laid out in the Network’s Mission Statement. UNESCO Creative Cities are indeed key partners to UNESCO for the local implementation of the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

How to join UCCN?

  • To become a member of UCCN, candidate cities must submit an application that demonstrates their willingness, commitment and capacity to contribute to the objectives of the Network.
  • Joining the network is a longstanding commitment; it must involve a participative process and a forward-looking approach. Cities must present a realistic action plan including specific projects, initiatives or policies to be executed in the next four years to implement the objectives of the Network.

How many cities are there in the Network at present?

  • Currently, there are 295 cities in the network work together towards a common objective: placing creativity and cultural industries at the heart of their development plans at the local level and cooperating actively at the international level.

What is UNESCO?

  • UNESCO is the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. It aims to build peace through international cooperation in Education, the Sciences and Culture. Its programmes contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals defined in Agenda 2030, adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2015.
  • UNESCO celebrates its 75th anniversary on 12 November 2021. UNESCO was born on 16 November 1945. At present, it has 195 Members and 8 Associate Members. It is governed by the General Conference and the Executive Board. The Secretariat, headed by the Director-General, implements the decisions of these two bodies. UNESCO’s headquarters are located in Paris. Also, it has more than 50 field offices around the world.
  • In its mission is to contribute to the building of a culture of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information, UNESCO has been working on a number of overarching objectives:
  • Attaining quality education for all and lifelong learning
  • Mobilizing science knowledge and policy for sustainable development
  • Addressing emerging social and ethical challenges
  • Fostering cultural diversity, intercultural dialogue and a culture of peace
  • Building inclusive knowledge societies through information and communication
About Classic IAS Academy 501 Articles
Classic IAS Academy is at the forefront of providing best IAS coaching in delhi, India. The Academy helps the aspirants to tap their innate analytical power to become successful in the exam.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply